Next Fortnite Update to bring huge changes


After a dull period towards the beginning of Fortnite Season 7 with an update only coming every few weeks at best, we're truly riding a wave of hype and content right now. Season 8 isn't too far away but we still have some unfinished business with Season 7.

In what will be our fourth update in 5 weeks, Fortnite Update 17.40 lands this week and early signs suggest it's going to be huge.

Fortnite Update 17.40 Release Time

There is no indication that Fortnite Update 17.40 will break the traditional update schedule meaning it should drop on Tuesday, 17 August. As for the server downtime, we expect this to begin at 09:00 BST / 04:00 EST / 01:00 PST and last anywhere up to two hours.

Despite it being late in the season, we are still expecting more major updates before Season 8 beings. Leakers have discovered that 17.50 does exist and is in the works and this could be the final big update of Season 7.

Fortnite Update 17.40 Content

There is some debate going on right now as to whether Fortnite Update 17.40 will bring us an Among Us crossover. Due to the names of some files that were uncovered during a recent data mine, many believe that a crossover is imminent whereas others believe it's entirely coincidence.

Time will tell which scenario turns out to be true, but it's just another example of how a Fortnite Update like 17.40 can cause such speculation and excitement with the community on such a high.

When it comes to the fixes that will be implemented in Fortnite Update 17.40, the community Trello board is always the best place to check for what still needs addressing. @XTigerHyperX on Twitter discovered that there are 706 builds in the update which suggests the update will be considerably larger than those in recent weeks.